V i r t u o u s T h r e a d s

What is Love? Part 1

Posted on: February 3, 2009

Ever since I wrote my last post, I’ve had an earworm stuck in my head……

What is love
Baby don’t hurt me
Don’t hurt me
no more

(lyrics by Haddaway)

I may have aged myself with that song but it makes me think.   How often do we as wives end up hurting the ones we love the most by our attitudes toward meeting their needs?  How quickly we forget that fine print we spoke as wedding vows:

I will live first unto our God and then unto you, loving you, obeying you, caring for you and ever seeking to please you. God has prepared me for you and so I will ever strengthen, help, comfort, and encourage you. Therefore, throughout life, no matter what may be ahead of us, I pledge to you my life as an obedient and faithful wife.”

Are you being these things, doing these things for others (maybe just yourself?) and neglecting your man?  I hope not but I have to confess right here that I’m guilty.  Didn’t do it on purpose but nonetheless I’m grateful to my Father for loving me enough to correct me and set me right.

Looking at the famous love passage in I Corinthians 13, I want to draw your attention to a few choice phrases that fit my theme today:

Love cares more for others than for self.

(Love) Doesn’t have a swelled head.

(Love) Isn’t always “me first,”.

(Love) Puts up with anything.

(Love) Keeps going to the end.

Wives, we’ve truly been called to be servants.  But it’s not enough just to serve, we’ve got to express our love for our husbands and for our God by having a servant’s heart.  We’ve got keep the reasons why we do what we do crystal clear.  Godly submission is a beautiful and powerful thing.   The Word says it is enough to bring an unsaved husband to Christ!  How much more can it minister and bless a christian husband and all those who see it???

So how does this play out?  Picture in your mind all the times you’ve bent to pick up dirty socks discarded mere feet from the hamper.  What did your face look like as you did it?  What thoughts were running through your head?  Ouch!! Maybe it’s yet another football game when you really wanted to watch a movie, or arranging the furniture to please someone else’s taste rather than your own.  The final straw might be cooking the meal he requested while nursing sick kids, doing laundry and dealing with monthly cramps.  This stuff is the nitty gritty of life-long love affairs.  We all deal with it, no one is married to the perfect man.  He doesn’t exist.  For that I’m kinda glad.  Gives me more room to mess up as I’m wont to do.

So what now?  Now you think, you reflect, and hopefully you’ll pray.  The Bible in Basic English says it this way:

“Make a clean heart in me, O God; give me a right spirit again.”               Psalm 51:10

1 Response to "What is Love? Part 1"

Great post Rebecca!

Leave a Reply

