V i r t u o u s T h r e a d s

Ok, time for a heart to heart…..

Posted on: August 2, 2007

I forgot to mention that the blogging once a week is a minimum. 😉

I think as knitters/crocheters we are extremely susceptible to peer pressure.  Since we are so blessed to have multiple knitting magazines, no shortage of great knitting books, fascinating blogs, generous designers providing free patterns, and now Ravelry, it is very easy to become overwhelmed with “I want that!”, “I must make that!”.  We take what is a beautiful pastime and creative outlet and we push ourselves to knit whatever someone else is knitting even if it’s not something we would’ve chosen on our own.  And then there’s the yarn buying.  Now I’m not trying to say I don’t love shopping for gorgeous yarns, I’m an art lover and I adore color.  Yarn will always be something I appreciate and buy.  What I am talking about is the obsession with having the newest thing, the latest colorway, that hard-to-find indie yarn that everyone drools over.  I admit, I’m guilty.  To the detriment of my family’s budget lately.   Now some would say I need a yarn diet.  I don’t think so, however I did need an intervention, and maybe you do too but that’s for you to contemplate on and decide.  Despite our love for our craft, it is a craft….not life, not family, not our health, not our financial security, etc.

I want to take a  breather and look at my knitting/crochet/spinning as something that is a wonderful addition to my life but not the sole reason I’m alive!   It may not make me popular and you may not agree with me but that’s okay.  I don’t knit for you, I knit for me.  I’m going to reassess my queue and decide what I really want to knit and not be so easily swayed by new patterns, new KAL’s and the siren’s song of just one more new sock pattern.  I want my knitting time to be relaxing, enjoyable and low-key.  I want to have fun and knit what I’m interested in!  I won’t knit patterns I don’t love.  Sometimes I will only be knitting for myself since a lot of people don’t appreciate the time, money and love involved.  I want to invest my money in the yarns I need to explore different techniques, not just for gorgeous yarns that are going to sit and collect dust because I don’t knit socks that fast!   And dang-it I will not buy yarn for a project that is 2 or 3 down the list when I don’t have the mad money to do so.

I already know that I’m not interested in anything requiring novelty yarn, so that’s a given.  But here are some of the techniques I’ve been longing to try out and explore:

– lots of fair aisle socks, mittens and hats and yoked sweaters

– lace

– complicated cable work

– beaded wire knitting

And some projects I’ve been wanting to attempt:

– designs for my kitchen

– knee highs for me for winter

– designing hoodies for my kids

And the knitting that warms  my heart,

– hats, mittens, socks and scarves for my munchkins & hubby

– gifts for my new nieces, nephew, and sister-in-law Krystal.

In the next week or so I’ll be writing up a new queue and putting it under a tab at the top of my blog so if you’re interested you can check it out.

Anyway that’s what has been on my mind and my heart in the last couple of weeks.  It feels good to get it out.  Hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  I look forward to posting a picture of the finished sockapalooza socks on Sunday or Monday.  Till then, knit with your heart.   ~Rebecca

11 Responses to "Ok, time for a heart to heart….."

I have to say that I again 100% with everything you said. I knit only what I know will be appreciated and what I need. My budget it pretty tight right now so I know I can’t be frivolous with yarn buying but you I don’t feel I am suffering any for it. I have plenty to keep me busy til the budget is no longer under tight wrap.

I’m still with you!

I’ve decided I’m not much of a joiner. Every hot trend that I have tried to follow has resulted in my quickly losing interest (miters) or just not getting that into it (socks, ripples). I will knit and crochet what I love!

Hey Sis,

That is awesome and I am glad you were able to look into yourself and speak the truth! Denial no longer! Love you sis and I am happy for you!

Love lil Sis

Shauna

Good for you! I think we all need to re-assess sometimes… it helps us to keep our perspective.

Can’t wait to see what you put in your queue.

Hear hear! Good for you pet. Your life (and your money!) is for you to spend it as you see fit, and not for doing what everyone else is doing.

You keep being you.

xxx

Girl, when your right your right!
Knit with your heart! It’s a good knitting philosophy.

Your right, all the crafty influences around us does tend to breed lust for what we don’t have. I have mostly been removed from gratifying that lust because of our financial position. So there is one thing about not having a lot of money to throw around, you tend not to waste it. Every one of my yarn purchases are carefully thought out. I can’t tell you how difficult it was for me to spend $100 at Ram Wools when I was in Winnipeg in ONE hour. I didn’t do it, only spend $70 something. I wish I had picked up a book, they had so of EZ’s works, but I just didn’t have the time to think it through.

Books…..now there is something i have impulsively bought.

this is turning out to be really long and involved so I have decided you have inspired me to blog a bit about it. Hey! this will be my first blog entry inspired by another blogger! Thanks!

ps: it will probably take me all day to do since i have a lot to do around here. We are heading out to our church’s family camp this evening. yay!

well you only made two post these week 😉
wich is very good for a compulsive bloger, knitter, crocheter, and etc 🙂
Yes i think that that list works very well. I’m on my second month and by now, the bags are starting to be empty and i’m doing wath i need and enjoy, and not being compulsive in trying to make everything that i see, has i see it.
Have a nice weekend!

I agree with you 100%!

Knit with your heart. 🙂

I agree with you all the way! I’ll make what I want, when I want and/or when I can. 🙂

I’ll be saving this post to read whenever I feel I might be going over my yarn “cliff”. I’m DonnaC368 from ravelry, the one that loved your crochet bag. (among other people that love it!) If you want, I’d love to buy some of the yarn that you used in an attempt to make a bag too. Let me know if it hasn’t been slated for another project. I figured that this way, we could both get a project with less left over and a less expensive cost! 🙂

Thanks for that. 🙂 I think I really needed to read that — I get caught up in the latest trend and excitement far too easily.

Leave a Reply

