V i r t u o u s T h r e a d s

Protective Eyewear Needed

Posted on: June 8, 2007

Yeah, it is BRIGHT!!  The fabric I ordered from ReproDepot to line my Larger Than Life bag is here.  When I went to put in the order I was disappointed to find all my previous choices were gone.  However I had my daughter help me choose one and I think it’s wonderful!!

Now that it’s here I really want to get the rest of the squares done so I can see it all put together!    My goal is to have it finished by the end of the month.   Next choice:  what style handles or straps do I want?  Any suggestions?

6 Responses to "Protective Eyewear Needed"

Whew, that is bright! I can’t wait to see it done, though – it is sure to be cute.

What about I-cord for the handles? I think they would be sturdy enough. If the bag is big, you’ll need strong handles.

It is bright but very nice

I do like your color choices, it’s going to be SO fun to use. I am on the last finishing touches of my second LTL bag and I am already planning a third. I made many changes to the lining and especially to the handles. The handles look great in the lining fabric, but I made mine by using a 3 1/2″x30″ strip and putting a 1 3/4″x26″ piece of fusable fleece fused down the middle. Turn up 1/4″ at the end, then press the 1/2″ seam allowance over the long side of the fleece on both sides. FOLD IN HALF, PRESS and Pin. The two inches at the end without fleece is for ease of sewing onto the lining. Sew down each side of the handles and across the ends. You will be amazed, as I was, at how great these handles look with the fusable fleece. The placement is crucial, 7″ from the side and 2″ down from the top of the lining. The handles are thin and sturdy enough to stay on your shoulder as well as being the perfect length. The handles in the pattern are too far apart and the bag sags in the middle…not very sturdy either. I actually doubled the lining and added fusible fleece to each lining piece. Piping was added to the top and of course pockets on the inside, a regular pocket and a cell phone pocket. I added a shell pattern around the top of the crocheted bag, which created the

I do like your color choices, it’s going to be SO fun to use. I am on the last finishing touches of my second LTL bag and I am already planning a third. I made many changes to the lining and especially to the handles. The handles look great in the lining fabric, but I made mine by using a 3 1/2″x30″ strip and putting a 1 3/4″x26″ piece of fusable fleece fused down the middle of the WS. Turn up 1/4″ at the end, then press the 1/2″ seam allowance over the long side of the fleece on both sides. FOLD IN HALF lenghtwise, PRESS and Pin. The two inches at the end without fleece is for ease of sewing onto the lining. Sew down each side of the handles and across the ends. You will be amazed, as I was, at how great these handles look with the fusable fleece. The placement is crucial, 7″ from the side and 2″ down from the top of the lining. The handles are thin and sturdy enough to stay on your shoulder as well as being the perfect length. The handles in the pattern are too far apart and the bag sags in the middle…not very sturdy either. I actually doubled the lining and added fusible fleece to each lining piece. Doing this made a wonderfully sturdy lining for the crochet bag to fit over. Piping was added to the top and of course pockets on the inside, a regular pocket and a cell phone pocket. I added a shell pattern around the top of the crocheted bag, which created the perfect butonholes. Buttons at the top of the lining make it easy to secure the crochet bag to the lining. This sounds like a lot of extra work, but the end result is fabulous and very fuctional. A show-stooper for sure! The very best to you with yours.

I love colour! real colour and you got it, baby! The brighter the better, is what I always say [you should see my kitchen and wait till I get started on the bathroom – gonna pop your eyes out!]

Vogue has come up with an interesting fix with the launch of its new eyewear line.

Leave a Reply

