V i r t u o u s T h r e a d s

A new Sockapalooza plan & SPINNING!!!

Posted on: June 4, 2007

No matter which pattern I tried (and I tried many!) I just could not get the watermelon sock yarn I had bought for my pal to cooperate. Talk about stubborn! So I’ve decided to move on and choose another yarn. I’ve really been aching to knit some solid colored socks and happen to have a ball of Cherry Tree Hill in Teal just begging to be knit.

(It’s the 2nd from the left.)

Now to choose a pattern that will not cause me further headache! I’m considering five at the moment: Poseidon, Baudelaire, Bayerische, Hedera or Pembrokeshire Pathways.

I need help choosing!!! Please give me your opinion on the best pattern, especially if you’ve knit one of these.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

In other news:

Spinning! I’ve gone and joined the Spun Stitches KAL ! I am really excited about working along with others to spin a fine laceweight yarn and knit a shawl. I ordered some beautiful merino-silk from Blue Goose Glen in lichen green and light blue and started spinning it up yesterday.

It’s coming out so thin!! I’m shocked at how far my spinning has come in just the last few months!! Anyways, I’m planning on knitting the shawl as a Christmas gift for my grandmother. She’s the one who taught me to crochet as a child and I’ve yet to make her anything! Grumperina’s treatment of her grandmother puts me to shame. 😦 That has got to be remedied. I’m still undecided on the pattern I want to use. I’m considering the Swallowtail and Moonlight Sonata. Fortunately I don’t have to choose right away. The spinning and plying will take me awhile. I want to pick up a set of Addi Lace needles before I start as well.

Along with spinning for the shawl, I’ve also joined a KAL for socks knit with your own handspun! Just so happens I finished spinning my May fiber for the Spunky Club with the intention of knitting socks for hubby with it! I still need to ply it but then another pair of socks on the needles. πŸ™‚

9 Responses to "A new Sockapalooza plan & SPINNING!!!"

I am about to admit that my pattern is not working for the yarn I’ve chosen for my sock pal. I love them both so I don’t know which to give up on!
Your spinning looks great! What is the name of the spun and knit sock KAL? I am working on a project right now and would love to join.
I’m also hosting a fiber swap on Swapbot.

Wow! That spinning is gorgeous! And as for the patterns, they are all gorgeous πŸ™‚ I haven’t knit any but my personal fave is Eunny’s…

I’m not sure if my comment went through, but just in case:

I love your spin-work… the colors are beautiful!

I would chose Baudelaire or Bayerische, but they look very dificult to me. but pretty, very pretty.

I am knitting Bayerische right now for Sockapalooza. Beautiful but not easy! Very labor intensive.

Can’t believe you spin your own sock yarn! I am not worthy.

I was thinking of joining spun stitches too! In fact I just saw this gorgeous yarn spun up over there and was admiring it and now I saw it was you!

Well, I really like the Poseidon and the Pembrokeshire. I’m sure you’ll make beautiful socks whatever you chose.

I really love the bayrische and the baudelaire pattern……
Hope this helps you.
Happy knitty day

eve

Those patterns are all great, so you can’t go wrong no matter what one you choose. I like the Poseidon the most. Bayerische is a close second, but that one looks like it has serious potential to make you lose all your hair before you’re done…
I love your spinning. I have a drop spindle (somewhere…) that I have never successfully used. And I have this beautiful BFL roving just waiting patiently for me to get on the ball…someday. Yeah, that’s it–someday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

